On Wednesday 5th June, our Maths teacher Ms Balasingam was invited to a TES awards reception at The Houses of Commons for an afternoon tea with MPs to celebrate her success of being nominated for the TES New Teacher of the Year award 2019.

Recalling this wonderful and unique experience, Ms Balasingam said: “It was a privilege to meet many inspirational and creative teachers across the country and to share our school’s attributes. It was a fantastic evening where the Terrace pavilion was filled with lots of enthusiasm and positive vibes from all the TES nominees. I was absolutely delighted to share my experiences at Alperton Community School and to hear many inspiring stories from other nominees. I was also very enchanted to be greeted by Barry Gardiner, North Brent MPs, and Lucy Powell MP at the Terrace pavilion. For me being shortlisted for an award is a great achievement in itself, and this is something that I can always cherish as part of my NQT year.”

It is the third consecutive year that Alperton Community School has been nominated for a TES award. Last year we were nominated in the ‘Secondary School of the Year’ category and in 2017 we won the ‘Maths Team of the Year’ award. The gala ceremony of the TES awards 2019 will be held on Friday 21 June at the Grosvenor House Hotel. Fingers crossed for another ACS trophy. Good luck Ms Balasingam!